Skip to content

Bernd Jandeleit, Ph.D.

Vice President, Chemistry

Bernd Jandeleit serves as Vice President of Chemistry and is responsible for advancing our polymeric platform technologies for sustained delivery of biologics and small molecules in the eye. Dr. Jandeleit’s career spans more than 25 years in the biopharmaceutical and life sciences industries. Prior to joining Kodiak, he co-founded Quadriga BioSciences, Inc., now a clinical stage biopharmaceutical company. As Vice President of Chemistry, Dr. Jandeleit was involved in Quadriga’s corporate development, governance, financing, and IP protection. He coinvented QBS10072S, a small molecule chemotherapeutic for the targeted treatment of CNS cancers, and an advanced preclinical amino-acid transporter inhibitor candidate for T-cell mediated immune disorders. Prior to Quadriga BioSciences, Dr. Jandeleit worked with ascending responsibilities at XenoPort, Inc. (now Arbor Pharmaceuticals, Inc.) where he led multiple R&D prodrug delivery programs and helped establish XenoPort’s Transported Prodrugs™ technology platform, which exploits intestinal solute carrier transporters to improve pharmacokinetic properties of parent drugs. Earlier, he held leading roles at Symyx Technologies, Inc., a pioneer in combinatorial and high-throughput R&D in catalysis and materials science. He is a named inventor on over 40 granted US and international patents and is a co-author on over 30 publications in peer-reviewed journals and abstracts. Several of the molecules that he has invented and developed have been licensed to pharmaceutical companies for further development. Dr. Jandeleit conducted postdoctoral research as a fellow at the German National Scholarship Foundation and BASF AG in the labs of Prof. K.C. Nicolaou at The Scripps Research Institute, La Jolla on the total synthesis of complex natural products and small molecule anti-angiogenesis agents. He received his MS and PhD degrees, both with summa cum laude, from the RWTH Aachen University in Germany with Prof. D. Enders. He was awarded the prestigious Borcher’s Batch and the Springorum Medal.